Great weekend of music

Nice to get back out there an play music again.  It’s been a bit of a dry spell so say the least but it was nice to be home with my daughter.

So Friday saw me flying off to Edmonton for a gig in Leduc with Aaron Pritchett.  It was a fundraiser and they are always a bit interesting.  A real mix of people coming for the fundraiser that aren’t fans and then of course the fans of Aaron’s.  Always fun playing with the band and except for me messing up one intro it went off pretty good.  It has been over 4 months since I last played these tunes!

Sunday was the British Columbia Country Music Association’s Hall of Fame awards show (wow that’s a mouthful!).  One band and one person inducted were very close to me.  I was asked to play some songs on the show which was a real honour.  The house band is basically a group of top studio cats who call themselves “The Lyin’ Bastards”.  To be on stage with these guys (and gals) is a real cool thing.  So, the band inducted was Farmer’s Daughter.  I was in this band for quite some time and I was asked to play a medley of their songs.  Its been almost 20 years since I was on stage with the gals and they came on like they’ve been playing non stop since then.  Nailed all the songs and sounded amazing.  Brought the house down.  Next was an induction of my brother-in-law (deceased), Mike Norman.  He was an amazing musician, studio player, songwriter, producer, and the list goes on.  One of the most talented, hard working people I know and we shared a common warped sense of humour that is still unmatched today.  My wife and I made a speech about Mikes life and friends sent videos of congratulations.  It was a great award for someone who contributed so much to the association and the music scene in general.

So my soul has been nourished, bank account a tiny bit fuller and it feels good to be back playing again.  The rest of the year is started to fill up bit by bit but not so full that I can’t still do the Mr. Mom job.  Balance is the key.

Leave a Reply

